A Brief Explanation as to where I’ve been…

My apologies to everyone for the long dormancy of this blog, but I have been activated by the Uncle Sam to participate in the WOT (war on terror).  I know we aren’t supposed to call it that any more, but I have seen the mission statement.  And the mission statement specifically mentions the war on terror.

In any event, as the “go date” approached, I found myself being called to attend more and more training and had less and less time to devote to cartoons –which is as it should be.

This is not my first deployment.  Back in the 90’s I served in Desert Storm in the 82nd.  I remember the training and equipment we had then and I see the training and equipment we have now.  And I have to say it is all much better now–all except me.  I am not quite as high-speed as I was in the 90’s so I feel a little guilty about donning all this cool equipment the Army gives me.  Something about  Jesus’ admonition against putting old wine into new bottles comes to mind… Or is it the other way around?

As for this blog, my hope right now is to be able to update it occasionally over the next year or so. Yes, I’m being intentionally vague, as I have an aversion to mentioning anything about troop movements (especially on a blog).  I don’t think I know anything that is “strategically impactful,” but blabbing about the mission  strikes me as bad form.

So let me say so long for now, and I’ll update when I can.

Best regards,

Sam

10 responses to “A Brief Explanation as to where I’ve been…

  1. May God watch over you and all others trying to do the honorable thing. Let us know what you can, we are interested. I have a good friend who is probably going to be going overseas very soon also.

  2. Glad to hear you are still among us. We were getting concerned.

    When that old body complains, keep repeating – “With age comes wisdom”. And it is true. Of course if there were no old people, there would be fewer skeptics and cynics. That is what the opposition labels our wisdom. This also proves that skeptics and cynics live longer (reference an old Shoe cartoon).

  3. Wishing you the best of everything! Hope all goes well. Miss you, Sam!

  4. thank you for serving your country. It is greatly appreciated and you will be in my prayers.

  5. Thank you. Stay safe.

  6. Godspeed. be safe and ty.

  7. God be with you, and keep you safe.
    Keep your head down.

  8. Thank you for your service. Godspeed.

  9. Oh, geeze- I thought you’ve been on an extended vacay somewhere catching a few rays-

    My prayers are with you every step you take.
    God be with you and keep you safe.

  10. Ohhhh, thanks for the update. I had almost given up hope you’d return to your blogging. Thank you for being willing to fight for our nation!

    Godspeed!
    Former military mom

Leave a Reply

