Elizabeth Warren, Not Even 1/32nd Cherokee– Harvard Anthropology Department Last to Know

I hope I don’t get Siouxed… I saw this joke on Twitter posted by Kathy Shaidle , but turning it into lyrics for “I’m an Indian Too” from Annie Get Your Gun is my idea, so I should get hmmm, let’s say 1/32 credit?

Claimin’ That I’m Cherokee
Also From Lizzie Get Your Minority Faculty Position 
(Sung to the tune of “Doin’ What Comes Natur’lly“)
***********************
Folks are fair in Harvard Square,
For justice they are yearnin’
They will tenure whites like me
If I say I’m  Cher-o-kee (If you say your Cher-o-kee).
**************************
Yes it’s true, my eyes are blue
My face is pale as plaster
But Crimson craves di-vers-i-tee
So I say I’m  Cher-o-kee! (So I say I’m Cher-o-kee)!
********************************
Ya don’t have to know how to skin a doe,
How to track, or to hunt, or to shoot a bow.
You don’t have to prove any pedigree
To check Indian in a reg-is-try
That’s  di-vers-ity  (That’s diversity)!
******************************
To help my cousin’s  cook book,
Shee titled  Pow-Wow Chow.
I plagiarized an omelet,
It was published anyhow!
*************************
It’s true my great-great-great-grandpa
Drove redskins outta’  Georgia.
But there’s no trail of tears for me–
Claimin’  I’m-a  Cher-o-kee! (Claimin’ I’m-a  Cher-o-kee)!
Leave a Reply

